More reviews? Or not?

Recently some of you may have noticed that I’ve been featuring quite a few book reviews on here. This is partly because I like to include links to my publications, and I’ve become a regular reviewer for Lothian Life Magazine http://www.lothianlife.co.uk/ But not all of the reviews I’ve featured on this blog are from Lothian Life, many of them are my own reviews of books I’ve particularly enjoyed and wanted to share with you. These are, of course, in addition to any Amazon and Goodreads reviews I might write…

Before I began this blog, I had been given the advice to use my blog as a way of giving something of value to my readers. That is easy to say and hard to implement as what is considered useful to one reader may not be particularly useful to another. I’ve noticed that the most successful blogs do this well. For example, Molly Green’s blog http://www.molly-greene.com/ offers marketing and promotional advice to authors with the occasional post about her own Genevieve Delacourt mystery series books. Judging by the number of reviews she has for her novels on Amazon, this is a fairly successful strategy. You can read more about her (very enjoyable) novels here: http://www.molly-greene.com/gen-delacourt-mysteries/

Also, Rebecca Bradley’s blog http://rebeccabradleycrime.com/ has over 5,000 followers. She regularly features book reviews and author interviews as well as featuring her own novel, Shallow Waters, which I have yet to read but have heard is very good. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shallow-Waters-Hannah-Robbins-Book-ebook/dp/B00R9Q4CUM/

Of course, the overall purpose of my blog is to have an author website to help with sales of my novel, The Forest King’s Daughter http://www.amazon.co.uk/Forest-Kings-Daughter-Kendra-Olson-ebook/dp/B00UBTSNBI/  As I particularly enjoy writing book reviews, I’ve wondered if offering more of them on here might be a good way of attracting new readers, and keeping my existing readers entertained. Not that I’ll be hitting 5,000 followers anytime soon, but hey, it doesn’t hurt to try 😉

What do you think, would you like to read more book reviews on here? And, if you are a writer and a blogger, what is your strategy for ensuring your work gets seen?

Oh yes, and before I sign off, I’d just like to mention that if there are any book reviewers reading this who would be interested in reviewing my novel for their blog, I’d be happy to send a copy your way. Just leave a comment and I’ll get back to you. 🙂

Have a great weekend!

11 thoughts on “More reviews? Or not?

  1. Hi Kendra, i sympathise with your dilemma. I have really enjoyed your book reviews, which are thoughtful and considered and so would be very happy to read more of them here. However, as everyone else has more-or-less said, its about what works best for you and sometimes it can take a wee while to work out what that is. Good reviews need time to write etc. Have you got the time? If not, can you make it? If so, brilliant! Also I think the blogs that are successful are the ones where the reader comes away with some little extra piece of knowledge about the writing and/or publishing process- or reading. In other words, there’s added value to them. A good review gives added value but so does lots of other stuff. Personally, I’ve been having a break from blogging for many reasons, but I think I will go back to regular posts in the near future. In the past I have been bit random. I recognise I need to be a bit more focused and especially organised – i think being very organised and having what Molly Green calls “evergreen” posts has a lot to do with being successful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Marianne, I’m glad that you enjoy reading my book reviews. 🙂 Thanks too for your comments–all good points which I shall spend some time thinking about. I’ve missed your blog, but look forward to reading more of your posts in future. And good point too about trying to create “evergreen posts”! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to agree with all the other comments – a varied blog is an excellent thing, and as long as you’re reviewing books which are somehow relevant to your readers (i.e. ones that you’ve especially enjoyed, ones that are of a similar theme/style to your own writing, … etc) then I think it’s a great thing. Congratulations on becoming a regular review for Lothian Life! That’s great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Anne,
    Good points! And thank you too for the permission to stop writing when it’s no longer fun. There have been times when I do get bored of a story and try to persist with it regardless and find these are the sections I later have to go back and rewrite. Didn’t a famous writer once say something along the lines of ‘no fun for the writer, no fun for the reader’? You’re right about having multiple dimensions to the blog too–more to choose from! Thanks so much for your comments and advice!

    Like

  4. Hi Kendra, when you enjoy doing something or writing about it, it comes across to your readers. So all the while you’re having fun doing reviews – and choosing books you want to review – you’ll have a good following who will come to trust your judgement and be glad to see a new review. When it starts losing its edge for you, or feeling like a chore (and you don’t know what to write any more instead of bursting to get your thoughts down! Hmm… this goes fro ALL writing) then stop. But don’t forget about your own writing too: two (or three or four) dimensions are good for the blog -people can pick and choose with pleasure!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Kendra.

    Intreating post… I like reading your reviews they are very insightful as with all your other posts. I think you should blog about what you feel interests you. Wether that be review of books you love (I also find writing review fun after reading books I love) or interview with authors to hear about their books. Etc. Because I think like with writing and reading books if you have a passion for what you write or put on your blog that shine through to any possible readers.

    When it comes to my blog I put up what I feel strongly or happy about. Or things I feel I’d like to read too when it comes to interview etc.. I’m sure years from now I’ll look back on my blog over the post and I’d like to think that it was filled with post that were intreging to me at the time as well as post that interested other readers too.

    So my thought is go with what makes you happy.

    I hope you’re having a lovely week.

    Take care.
    Katie.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Kendra… I’m busy toying with and trying to suss the dynamics for my own new blog and I’m realising I don’t think there is one right answer regarding quantity of reviews; I think that you want to provide readers with something of value is the ultimate benchmark BUT alongside your own desire to post/review without any quantitative pressure. On a personal level I do prefer more insightful reviews that discuss & link interesting elements of the books – be it context, narrative styles or authorial info etc – that makes me far more likely to return to the blog and explore the bloggers own works. I’d be happy to review your book but I’m just playing catch up so it would be realistically late October/ early November… Poppy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Poppy, You’re absolutely right, and it is so difficult to strike the right balance. My worry is that if I do more reviews I may become inundated with requests for reviews. On the other hand, I figure I can be picky about which books I review as it’s my blog. Best of luck with your own blog, I always enjoy reading your posts which are insightful. And thanks for your offer to review my novel. I’ll contact you separately about this.Thanks again for your helpful comments. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

